Epic Weekend

Quite simply, one of the best weekends I’ve had. It all happened so fast, so I’ll try to give a good recap.

Friday

Went to the Sounds Like A Movement show downtown, at the Cohiba Club. I initially went to help support my friends from Boris Smile, who opened the show with a great set that included “Apollo” and “Aurora” from their Rockets EP. As it turns out, the night as a whole was wonderful. John Torres, a singer/songwriter from San Diego I believe, was amazing with his performances; my favorite song from the set that night was “American Dreams.”

(Side Note: there seems to be an issue with the free CD I got…the songs listed on the disc itself were not the same when I put the CD in my computer to import into iTunes. Of course, I can’t complain about something I got for free, right?)

The event showcased two causes in particular: TOMS Shoes and the 5th Sreet Community Garden. Both are great causes to check out and help.

The headlining band was The Silent Comedy, and they were simply AMAZING. Loved the setup of instruments (they even had a banjo!), and the music was great stuff. One of the highlights was the sound cutting out during the FIRST song, which made things interesting for 5-10 minutes. The night ended with a sing-along of “Knockin’ On Heaven’s Door,” and getting free homemade cookies and milk on the way out. Great night, hope to continue supporting SLAM in the future. For more info, check out

Sounds Like A Movement

TOMS Shoes

5th Street Community Garden

Also, be sure to check these bands out:

The Silent Comedy

John Torres

Boris Smile

Rating: A

Saturday

This is where things get REALLY weird. I went to Chain Reaction in Anaheim, to catch my friends at The Messenger for their final show. What I found there was, again, a great night from quite a few bands. I don’t have all the names, but I do remember quite enjoying the music from a band called Amity before the final set from The Messenger. A highlight of that set was the last song, their cover of Chris Brown’s “Kiss Kiss” in which the lead singer invited “everyone” to come up on stage. I got up on stage, and remembered I had no clue what the lyrics were…but again, a great night to be had.

Of course, I found out my night wasn’t quite over yet. I was trying to get a ride home, and was fortunate to get one with my friend Kevin Jordan, who was guitarist for The Messenger. Funny thing about that, though; he had another show in Long Beach, playing with another band: Smart Patrol, the ultimate tribute to DEVO. Since they didn’t play until after midnight, we move into…

Sunday

…when I found myself at the Prospector. Completely different setting from Chain Reaction (IE, the fact it’s a bar/restaurant and not an all ages club). In this case, I only saw Smart Patrol play, but the set they played was amazing. If you’re a fan of DEVO, you’ll love this band…then again, as Kevin said: “if you know any song other than just ‘Whip It,’ you like DEVO.” Great songs, especially liked their renditions of “Gates of Steel” and their namesake hit “Smart Patrol/Mr. DNA.” Great time, aside from the lady that had a little too much to drink…but that’s another story, for another time.

I got home at around 3 AM, only to wake up at 6 to leave for church; specifically, to visit my friend’s church in Cypress. The service was great, with one of the elders preaching on the subject of life changes. One of the key characteristics of a true life change is that it’s a step-by-step process. After church, I had lunch with my friend and her family, and later helped her watch a woman’s granddaughter for a bit. I’m actually leaving out the details on purpose here, but rest assured it was a fun time overall.

I hope this helps explain why I call it my “epic weekend”…now, if you’ll excuse me, I have some sleep to catch up on. Somehow.

Be sure to check out my Flickr for some of the pics from Friday and Saturday.

This entry was published on August 2, 2010 at 3:20 pm and is filed under Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

